Prizes distributed
Prizes distributed

Prizes distributed to the winners of some Carnival competitions

PHILIPSBURG - St. Maarten Carnival Development Foundation (SCDF) presented some winners of this year's Carnival competitions with their Bureau Telecommunication and Post-sponsored prizes on Friday. Prize recipients were Junior Calypso Queen Denicia Martimbor, Junior Calypso competition second place winner Erissa Cozier, Junior Queen Zaysha Sinclair, Junior pageant first runner-up Dashannique Pascal, Senior Queen Trumane Trotman and Senior pageant first runner-up Davinia Brooks.

Bureau Telecommunication and Post donated a Netbook with one year free Internet service from a provider of preference to each recipient. Ryan Wijngaarde of the Bureau said this was its manner of giving back to the community. He, like SCDF President Stuart Johnson, said the donation was setting an example for others in the business community.

Johnson noted SCDF's pleasure in passing on to the winners prizes that were rightfully theirs. He noted that SCDF was in full swing with preparations for next year's Carnival, as he said Carnival planning was a year-round task.

SCDF Treasurer Erno Labega noted the impeccable role that Bureau Telecommunication and Post, directed by Peggy-Ann Brandon, had played throughout the 2011 Carnival season. He mentioned her role in ensuring the prizes were distributed and thanked the Bureau for its overall assistance.

Who are we?

Bureau Telecommunications and Post St. Maarten (BTP) is the independent regulatory authority for the Telecommunications and Post industry in St. Maarten.
BTP is responsible for the maintenance of a competitive environment in St. Maarten in the industries with which it is tasked to regulate.
BTP executes its tasks through consultations with industry participants and stakeholders, focused on attaining quality and affordable communications for all, working towards establishing an environment that support continuous growth and development within the industries. Read more